In Buddha’s footsteps: Ellora, Part II

Siddhārtha, Gautama… for me Buddha is the most contemporary and relevant icon to connect with in modern times. In this age of despair, greed, stress and poverty, no other spiritual thinker comes close to the ideology  and iconography he left behind. His story of a life of luxury and his deep grief for a contrasting world outside has always fascinated me. Revisiting the Ellora caves and rediscovering his path was particularly uplifting. Buddham, Sharanam, Gachaami…

The seven stages of Buddhahood as explained in the Lotus sutra.

A seated Buddha, this statue is at least 12 ft high.

One of several larger than life depictions of Buddha in a particular mudra.

Prince Siddhartha in the lap of luxury.

A close up view of the meditating Bodhisattva.

The Bodhisattva shot in natural light, this image is unprocessed.

Bodhisattva in a trance, lit by a natural beam of light that came in through a window inside this cave.

About shabnamphoto

I'm a graphic artist with a passion for photography. I like to tell a story with my pictures. Sometimes a picture may speak on its own and at other times it may need an explanation. I'm intrigued by the ordinariness of life and enjoy documenting my life in the light and shadow of what surrounds me. Be it people, landscape, flowers, architecture or birds, the camera helps me see what I wouldn't with my naked eye.
This entry was posted in Documentary, Fine art, Photo essay, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In Buddha’s footsteps: Ellora, Part II

  1. friendlytm says:

    This is my dream to go there to visit!

    Like

  2. rupa gulab says:

    Stunning! Both the sculptures and the photography. It’s like being there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

