Indie rock band, Pentagram: Fanatical, frenzied, radioactive performance.

Jostling my way up to the front row of zealous fans; overstepping, crushing, squeezing or simply pounding my way through a crowd of 3000; clutching my camera over a sea of bopping heads and wondering whether shooting on 1600 ISO without flash compensation would pay off; I took these images of this volatile, energetic band with the hope of getting more than just a blur for a picture. Pentagram as I later discovered is touted as one of India’s foremost (electro) rock bands that fuses rock style vocals, guitar and drums with new age samples and tweaked electronics. Vishal Dadlani, the lead vocalist is nothing short of being a supersonic radar station of a performer. I also discovered that I’d rather hear them live than listen to them on laptop. Catch them on their gigs mentioned on their website www.pentagram.in/ if you’re impressed.

Vishal Dadlani belts it out

Vishal Dadlani belts it out

Pentagram is a hugely popular band in India, I didn't know until this moment!

Pentagram is a hugely popular band in India, I didn’t know until this moment that they’ve performed at the Glastonbury festival opening to bands like Chemical Brothers!

Great stage performers talk to their fans, Vishal Dadlani is no different.

A passionate plea to change the world. Some of the bands popular songs are about social change. 

I can’t hear you…I say “I need a voice now”…. 

The band is now on tour promoting their new album ‘Bloodywood’ a counterpoint and rebellious outcry against the popular music of Bollywood. Ironically, the lead vocalist Vishal happens to be a sought after songwriter for Hindi movies! 

I liked the Hitchcockian pitch in this image! Not to mention the hairy notes that blew (off the guitar) and nearly blew off my ears!

I was particularly pleased with my exposures, the first time I’ve ever shot a live performance on totally controlled settings!

A wonderful blur that captures the real essence of the performance, there was hardly a still moment. To hell with perfect sharpness! 

The magic of blurring boundaries, shapes, sounds and the after effects thereof!

Shiraz is not just a wine, in this case its a passionate drummer in the band!

Never a dull moment, what with the sampled sounds and constantly changing visual effects.

Another blink and another color to blast your eyes, pentagram sure has come a long way since their start in 1994.

About shabnamphoto

I'm a graphic artist with a passion for photography. I like to tell a story with my pictures. Sometimes a picture may speak on its own and at other times it may need an explanation. I'm intrigued by the ordinariness of life and enjoy documenting my life in the light and shadow of what surrounds me. Be it people, landscape, flowers, architecture or birds, the camera helps me see what I wouldn't with my naked eye.
This entry was posted in Documentary, Photo essay, Portrait, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Indie rock band, Pentagram: Fanatical, frenzied, radioactive performance.

  1. Peter says:

    Sure. A couple of your Haghia Sophia photos were amazing. Such saturated color. Advice-wise, I guess you could cull some photos that don’t quite meet your standards, the low-light handheld ones in particular. Also, Ataturk died in 1938.

    Like

  2. shabnamphoto says:

    Since you’ve come all the way, how about leaving a critique behind, am always open to dialogue and hey it will only help me do the job better 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

