Art takes times square. Is something really going on out there?

I’m overwhelmed by my participation in this mammoth collective effort called Art Takes Times Square. Besides being back by a few hundred dollars in these lean times, I find myself sucked into a whirl of art and hope. It’s like a game of dice, a chance at noticeability. The public is the judge here for the first shortlist of 200 portfolios out of maybe 76000 (pity, my grandma & her pals aren’t around to collect me! ). Ok, so the thing is your goodwill with your networks is what counts besides hopefully your work quality. It’s a ton of work like none other out here, especially for the soloists participating on hope and talent alone. First and foremost of course is the making of a stellar portfolio and then the networking to get the eyeballs. Tumbling it, pinning it, pressing it, stumbling it, facebooking it, twittering it and of course blogging it! Tough contest, fat chance is what I think! Given the dismal stats on my blog here and Pinterest (I’m not on tumblr), what chance do I stand?

But then, I love that its there. It offers me inspiration to do stuff, make something out of my life and more importantly it helps connect me back with myself and what’s important to me as an independent artist free from the rigors of commerce. It really doesn’t matter if I’m kinda slow at generating a windfall of interest around all these platforms. It’s important that I now have an interesting set of experimental art to show my well wishers and friends who care to take a look! My head has been in a spin the past two weeks creating artworks in a rush of inspiration, whilst tracking all the twists and turns stipulated in the contest details for a basic framework for success.

So here’s a big hello to all you visitors, friends, fellow bloggers, subscribers and the fluke stumblers, please spare a minute or two to take a look at some interesting photo collages I have made. They’re viewable on the link below and hey if you do see them then don’t forget to click “Collect Me” (its the tab on the top right hand corner of the page in the link below! Phew!!) I hope your participation will help me get somewhere from nowhere!

http://shabnamphoto.artistswanted.org/atts2012

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Oh yeah, you can click “collect me” anonymously if you are concerned about privacy. Though there is something in it for you as a collector too. From what I understand, you will become a registered collector / judge with www.artistswanted.org and might be encouraged to consider either participation or be a judge of the work you see apart from my own. For the most striking collection there is a reward too, a trip to NYC!!! So, do not hesitate, if you love art, do take a look and be part of this movement. You might surprise yourself with the awesome talent you see there and be inspired yourself! You lose nothing when you collect, infact you stand to gain!!!

If you have a critique or comment to share you can leave one there or better still come back here to share. In case you are a fellow artist/photographer and are interested in participating do take a look at the details of the contest here. http://www.artistswanted.org/arttakestimessquare/

Muchos gracias in advance!

Collect me on the link above the slideshow or via shabnamphoto.

About shabnamphoto

I'm a graphic artist with a passion for photography. I like to tell a story with my pictures. Sometimes a picture may speak on its own and at other times it may need an explanation. I'm intrigued by the ordinariness of life and enjoy documenting my life in the light and shadow of what surrounds me. Be it people, landscape, flowers, architecture or birds, the camera helps me see what I wouldn't with my naked eye.
This entry was posted in Awards, Fine art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Art takes times square. Is something really going on out there?

  1. iya says:

    wonderful photos! 🙂

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    Shabnam, I clicked Collect me – but it says error after I feed in my email details etc. Your collage is very interesting and so vibrant – love it !!

    Like

    • shabnamphoto says:

      thanx anon for trying, must b a problem with the website, try logging in thru Facebook instead 🙂 pl write yiur name here as wp makes u anonymous if u come from the world outside this blogosphere!!!!

      Like

  3. Congratulations and best of luck. This is really GREAT pictures!

    Like

  4. Shabnam your pictures are BEAUTIFUL!!! I really really like. Colours, texture, depth… exquisite! Would love to view your portfolio, but there seems to be a problem with the links you’ve provided. I’ll take another tour in your slideshow 🙂

    Like

    • shabnamphoto says:

      Problem seems fixed, thanks a ton for your very prompt and happy responses, hope the onward journey on the web page is smooth! Have fun!

      Like

      • W O W ! ! !
        I think… maybe I will participate. Not sure what with though. I like the site… the idea… Your portfolio looks awesome Shabnam. I “collect me” clicked, I hope you win a bunch of money 😎

        Like

      • shabnamphoto says:

        heya Anette, thanks for the support, I look forward to your entries, am sure your portfolio will look wow too, dunno about the money, but would be great if I could show off the prints in some booth out there…. 🙂

        Like

      • I’m looking at: “Upload an image that represents you.”

        Sure! a place to show off is priceless 😎

        Like

  5. Shabnam, I’m trying to do everything you’ve asked but I first of all have to tell you there’s a problem with the link just above your slideshow!

    Like

Leave a Reply

