Some Honorable mentions at the International Photography Awards, hope you think they’re well deserved!

It’s a happyish day for me to share this tiny spot of sunlight on some of my work I had entered into the IPA, last summer. Though I can’t remember exactly how many images I had entered, I’m pleased that 5 of them ended up making it to the honorable mentions list in various categories. These are displayed on the IPA 2011 winners gallery.

For those of you who may not know, The International Photography Awards is a sister-effort of the Lucie Foundation (http://www.luciefoundation.org/), where the top three winners are announced at the annual Lucie Awards ceremony. According to their press release, the awards event was held at the Lincoln Center in New York on October 24, 2011, before returning to Los Angeles in 2012 in celebration of the 10-year anniversary. Pity I didn’t make it to the list of finalists. But then, I’m pleased to know that my images made it to the top 100 from the over 8,000 submissions from 90 countries they received for the 2011 International Photography Awards. There were over 70 jurors, the largest to date, is what I gather from their press release.

The Foundation’s mission is to honor master photographers, discover new and emerging talent, and promote the appreciation of photography. IPA is dedicated to recognizing contemporary photographers’ accomplishments in this specialized and highly visible competition. So, I’m pleased a tiny bit 🙂 You can visit www.photoawards.com for more details if you are a photography fiend like me.

Or you can take a look at my winning entries here:

ZOOM.

ZOOM.

ZOOM.

ZOOM.

ZOOM.

 

About shabnamphoto

I'm a graphic artist with a passion for photography. I like to tell a story with my pictures. Sometimes a picture may speak on its own and at other times it may need an explanation. I'm intrigued by the ordinariness of life and enjoy documenting my life in the light and shadow of what surrounds me. Be it people, landscape, flowers, architecture or birds, the camera helps me see what I wouldn't with my naked eye.
This entry was posted in About, Awards and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Some Honorable mentions at the International Photography Awards, hope you think they’re well deserved!

  1. viveka says:

    Congratulations …. On the top 100 list. Excellent. A lot great photographers out there … Had a look at the link – big award.

    Like

    • shabnamphoto says:

      Hello Viveka, So nice to hear your voice on this space, Thank you. I hope to get better with time and make it to the finalists next year! With your good wishes, and a lot of hard work, I hope I will be able to. This is a tiny lil pat on my back which is nice! 🙂

      Like

      • viveka says:

        I think you have done a fantastic job … coming into the 100 best – but of course to become a finalist is a total different thing. Of course you will.

        Like

  2. Congrats sista..what a wonderful news …oh to be amongst the best..what an honour..
    just saw all the five shots,they are brilliant,specially the 4th one ..wrinkles are lovely they have so many stories in them
    beautiful work Shabnam,keep up the good work
    its such a proud moment
    Big hugs 🙂
    http://www.spacetimestudios.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=4556&d=1326133580

    Like

Leave a Reply

