Down under, up above Australia with two megapixels.

The great barrier grief: Azure blue waters, translucent and clear with fish of every hue, the gently pulsating corals, there is indeed no other place on earth with such pristine life. Shot with an underwater (toy) film camera bought for under AUD 100 on the boat that took us there. This collage is an attempt to depict the whole feeling but is woefully low resolution.

Bondi beach, skate park: My head was in a whirl just looking at the sheer zest, dexterity and athleticism of the average Australian youngster. I was mesmerized by the spirit of these youth, maneuvering the sharp corners of a skate bowl with a depth of 12 ft shaped into the sidewalk. These guys were tumbling and never losing balance, bouncing so high up into the air and landing into this concrete hole…amazing is all I got to say of what I saw.

The great ocean road: There is a reason why this is possibly the most spectacular coastlines on earth. This is where the cliffs meet the angry blue waters. A land of gorges, shipwrecks and some weird rock formations called the 12 apostles. These were shot, freeze frame from a helicopter on a handy cam after a 4 hour bus ride along the circuitous Ocean road off Melbourne. This collage expresses the tumbled and turned vision of the landscape as seen from the copper ride above.

Melbourne musings: No trip to Melbourne is complete without a visit to the busy streets of St. Kilda’s. The luna park, the circus, the beautiful architecture and a browse around the Victoria museum. From Cairns in the north to the Gold coast & Byron Bay at the easternmost point to Melbourne in the south, the trip made for one of the most memorable holidays of our lifetime.Thank you Australia,we love you.

Sydney sunrise: These pictures were shot at daybreak from the apartment window where we stayed in downtown Sydney. The rapid shift of color in the sky was one of the most fascinating aspects of this sunrise for me. Unlike India where you can almost always spot the sun, here I noticed only changing colors and light. In a matter of 5 minutes the city was bathed in bright light.

Sydney sights: A leisurely Sunday I can’t seem to forget. It may seem hectic in this collage but was actually one of the most relaxed days of my life. The boat ride to the Taronga zoo offers some great sights of the harbor. How blue can blue be?

One of my life’s biggest tragedies was carrying an instamatic camera and a handy cam on a holiday to one the world’s most beautiful coastlines. Though I’m happy I have some great footage from the month-long trip on videotape, I kept lamenting the loss of my old Minolta SLR. I realized I was too much of a still shoot person as soon as the plane landed in Cairns. On my shoestring budget there was no chance I could indulge my passion of acquiring a brand new DSLR in foreign exchange!

These images have lain and then transferred from the various computers I owned and junked over the 8 years of their existence. When I looked at them recently, I was a bit disappointed. But then, I love them so. A tad touristy, but what the heck! What could I possibly do to get away from the hackneyed? I looked at Hockney instead! I turned the images into collages to make sure that the memory of all that I saw was not lost altogether. I worked on these on the assumption that a cubist mindset might help express that the whole is indeed greater than the sum of its parts. Had I had more than 2 mega pixels to play with, I would’ve blown up the parts in sharp contrast to these multitudinous low resolution images. Hope the experiment worked.

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/3821402/shabnamphoto?claim=nqhu373c2m3″>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

About shabnamphoto

I'm a graphic artist with a passion for photography. I like to tell a story with my pictures. Sometimes a picture may speak on its own and at other times it may need an explanation. I'm intrigued by the ordinariness of life and enjoy documenting my life in the light and shadow of what surrounds me. Be it people, landscape, flowers, architecture or birds, the camera helps me see what I wouldn't with my naked eye.
This entry was posted in Fine art, Photo essay, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Down under, up above Australia with two megapixels.

  1. Anonymous says:

    Love the collage or I would rather call them mood-boards, they tell a nice story.

    Like

  2. Blood-Ink-Diary says:

    Your eyes shoot the most superb visions! You are an absolute gem of a photographer — all that you shoot is a thrill of a delight. Once more, you have brought a smile on my face by seeing your recent contribution, though I am not at all surprised, meri dost. Thank you for inspiring! Shine, Shabnam!

    Like

    • shabnamphoto says:

      Thank you Shaheen, every time I look at pictures with a critical eye, I try and face mediocrity in the eye. I’m kind of pleased to note that this happy post is one of my more popular ones on wp. I have all of you to thank for inspiring me into action.

      Like

  3. Great idea! An inspired way to adapt the images and preserve the visual memories. Looks like the experiment worked!

    Like

  4. Wow! Anywhere you go, up or down, sky or sea, each image breathes an exciting beautiful life!!!

    Like

  5. viveka says:

    Wov … what a great idea about how to display photos – like mosaic !!! The skateboarding photos stunning and so Sydney. Only work with a compact camera those days – and this has given me something to work with. The photos don’t have to be that perfect neither to get look interesting Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • shabnamphoto says:

      Thanks Viveka, am glad you found this useful, recipes with photos, though they’re not half as tasty as salmon ones you share!!!! 😀

      Like

      • viveka says:

        Thank you so much for liking the salmon I do – yesterday dinner was salmon and it was fantastically good. Yes, I know what I will do with all my not used photos – a mosaic – brilliant idea. Thanks for sharing that with me.

        Like

      • shabnamphoto says:

        U r very special and I look forward to the mosaic, if only I could afford the salmon! Maybe I replace the it halibut or something less! Love the idea of cheesy cauliflower mash, will try it at once 🙂

        Like

  6. Lagos says:

    Your style is really refreshing.

    Like

  7. stunning the beauty of collages caresses my senses….
    Shabnam these are great shots….

    Like

  8. Wow these collages are amazing. You’ve inspired me. For someone who lost a DSLR, you really accommodated 🙂 Awesome work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

