Landscapes in the Nilgiris

I’ve been gone a long time and now I find myself with way too much to share with very little time. So here I’m picking up the threads with a set of landscapes I have shot in a place which I call my second home. Ooty is where my kids have attended school. The places a little away from the bustling, beaten town are still very pretty and as my daughter says “the clouds are great out here.” It’s great to be wandering around with your camera with a sky so vast.

Ketti valley is a bit of a cliche, but it offers some great views especially in the month of August.

Ketti valley is a bit of a cliché, but it offers some great views especially in the month of August.

A walk around the botanical garden and you're sure to be rewarded with some amazing trees like this one with roots that spread as wide as its canopy.

A walk around the botanical garden and you’re sure to be rewarded with some amazing trees like this one with roots that spread as wide as its canopy.

Coonoor is on the way to Ooty from Coimbatore. It is truly wonderful to spend a day driving along the circuitous roads soaking in the sights and sounds of silence.

Coonoor is on the way to Ooty from Coimbatore. It is truly wonderful to spend a day driving along the circuitous roads soaking in the sights and sounds of silence.

The British established the hill resort of Ooty to escape the summer heat, and years after they’ve left, it’s still like a patch of British countryside in India.

The British established the hill resort of Ooty to escape the summer heat, and years after they’ve left, it’s still like a patch of British countryside in India.

Nilgiris landscape

Sometimes I feel like watching those clouds just wander by. I can spend an hour or two just looking at the way light shifts on a landscape as pretty as a postcard!

Ketti Valley

Ketti valley offers some great views, that being said, due to the extensive development of the valley in recent years, the fauna present here has dwindled to a select few. I was happy to focus away in the distance!

Most of the people living around Ketti  and Ooty are manual labourers. The valley is surrounded by industrial establishments, such as the Needle Industries, the mushroom factories, tea factories, Mini flower gardens and the various educational institutions established from almost a century ago.

Most of the people living around Ketti and Ooty are manual labourers. The valley is surrounded by industrial establishments, such as the needle factories, the mushroom factories, tea factories, Mini flower gardens and the various educational institutions established from almost a century ago.

About shabnamphoto

I'm a graphic artist with a passion for photography. I like to tell a story with my pictures. Sometimes a picture may speak on its own and at other times it may need an explanation. I'm intrigued by the ordinariness of life and enjoy documenting my life in the light and shadow of what surrounds me. Be it people, landscape, flowers, architecture or birds, the camera helps me see what I wouldn't with my naked eye.
Image | This entry was posted in Documentary, Fine art, Landscape, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Landscapes in the Nilgiris

  1. Madhu says:

    Fabulous skies Shabnam! Brought back memories of the wonderful decade we spent in Conoor 🙂

    Like

  2. Viveka says:

    I can see what .. you mean with looking at a black and white world. Great photos again, but I love a world in colors – I don’t know but sepia, black and white photo makes me feel a bit uncomfortable and depressed … I know that most photographer love to work in black and white, but it has a negative effect on me.

    Like

  3. Anette says:

    Wonderful photos Shabnam! I’m so happy to see you again 🙂

    Like

  4. rupa gulab says:

    Loved the pix.They brought back fond memories of my crazy holiday in Ooty many many years ago.

    Like

  5. Welcome back. Nice series of photos from the valley!

    Like

Leave a Reply

