Valentine day roses: racy, pricey sentiment at most, ravishing nonetheless!

This is a set of roses that graced my home on Valentine day a couple of years ago. I’m not much of a romantic but a dear friend who spent sometime with me at my home, was looking forward to put the final touches to a budding romance with an old college mate in her middle age. Though their promises to each other have been through many seasons of uncertainty ever since, the flowers that her Valentine brought along, left a lasting impression on my light-sensitive eye. I felt compelled to freeze these stunningly handsome roses for life in my collection of images. They deserved more than just a season of appreciation, is what I thought.

Love is a mental disease, not a bed of roses: My friend had an urgent need to marry a rose (from the bouquet she recieeved from her beau ) with her perfectly manicured feet. I did the best I could, composing a picture on the spot! Their pledge for love is yet to be consummated.

Love is a mental disease, not a bed of roses: My friend had an urgent need to marry a rose (from the bouquet she received from her beau) with her perfectly manicured feet. I did the best I could, composing a picture on the spot! Their pledge for love is yet to be consummated.

A bold proclamation of love after 25 years of living one's life lovelessly elsewhere, can it be love at at all?

A bold proclamation of love after 25 years of living one’s life hopelessly elsewhere, can it be love at all?

Red is the color of martyrdom . As goes the folklore there is something forbidden about the love celebrated on Valentine Day, I warned my friend who is not such a chaste christian after all.

Red is the color of martyrdom. As goes the folklore, there is something forbidden about love celebrated on Valentine Day, I warned my friend who is not such a chaste christian after all.

These roses traversed a universe to land at her feet. Does this  guarantee undying love? Like the roses the love will fade before it dies. What matters is the grace with which you lived in that moment, I suppose.

These roses traversed a universe to land at her feet. Does this guarantee undying love? Like the roses the love will fade before it dies. What matters is the grace with which you lived in that moment, I suppose.

This may be a cliche, but the pnear perfect folds of this rose were so compelling, I could gaze into it for hours. Besides, I was happy to have a picture I could call my own even if done to death by many others.

This may be a cliché, but the near perfect folds of this rose were so compelling, I could gaze into it for hours. Besides, I was happy to have a picture I could call my own even if done to death by many others.

Valentine roses

Valentine roses

Valentines roses

Jehangir's 51(15)

About shabnamphoto

I'm a graphic artist with a passion for photography. I like to tell a story with my pictures. Sometimes a picture may speak on its own and at other times it may need an explanation. I'm intrigued by the ordinariness of life and enjoy documenting my life in the light and shadow of what surrounds me. Be it people, landscape, flowers, architecture or birds, the camera helps me see what I wouldn't with my naked eye.
This entry was posted in Fine art, Macro, Photo essay and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Valentine day roses: racy, pricey sentiment at most, ravishing nonetheless!

  1. Good info. Lucky me I ran across your site by chance (stumbleupon).
    I’ve book marked it for later!

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    Awesome photographer and even more awesome story teller !! Salaam Shabnam !!

    Like

Leave a Reply

