The motorman in Coonoor

Coonoor-motorman

On a trip to experience the slow life in Ooty, my husband and I got into what is popularly called ‘The toy train’. Some things in certain parts of the universe such as the quiet hamlets in small town India, remain quaint in a charmingly defiant way. The Nilgiri Mountain India Railway in Tamilnadu, is a railway built by the British in 1908. The railway still relies on its fleet of steam locomotives. Ever since UNESCO added the Nilgiri Mountain Railway as an extension to the World Heritage Site of Darjeeling Himalayan Railway, it has become a major tourist attraction. After what seemed like an endless hoot and toot through tunnels and beautiful vistas, we arrived in Coonoor. The sky was overcast and it was drizzling as we got off the little rattling bogie attached to the engine. On the other side of the track was a grease lined shed with this amazingly beautiful engine billowing smoke through its chimney, hissing its way to a halt. I made a dash to capture the feeling but failed to get there on time. I was happy to capture this portrait, a motorman who repairs and greases the parts of engines that date back to World war 1, maybe before.

Steam-engine-Conoor
This picture is a part of a permanent collection of Sterling Resorts. It was commissioned for their Fern hill resort in Ooty.
About shabnamphoto

I'm a graphic artist with a passion for photography. I like to tell a story with my pictures. Sometimes a picture may speak on its own and at other times it may need an explanation. I'm intrigued by the ordinariness of life and enjoy documenting my life in the light and shadow of what surrounds me. Be it people, landscape, flowers, architecture or birds, the camera helps me see what I wouldn't with my naked eye.
This entry was posted in Documentary, Portrait, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The motorman in Coonoor

  1. shabnamphoto says:

    Thanks so much Edith, Sometimes I feel that the whole universe conspires to give you what you’re looking for. Given the lighting condition, I felt truly blessed to have got what I wanted. This portrait is kind of special.

    Like

  2. Love the first image. You did a great job with the lighting and the shadows falling on that gentleman’s face really adds drama to the shot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

