Like hell, this is our world.

Is plastic the final evidence of economic growth? Is economic growth sustainable for the planet and the health of our own lives?

Is plastic the final evidence of economic growth? Is economic growth sustainable for the planet and the health of our own lives?

For me, it seems bottled water and garbage bags are the real evil in this world. One has to cheer LA for banning them. If the rest of the world follows we could minimise the plastic flotsams floating in our oceans.

For me, it seems bottled water and garbage bags are the real evil in this world. One has to cheer San Francisco for banning them. If the rest of the world follows we could minimise the plastic flotsam in our oceans, threatening to get back at us.

I'm very concerned about the planet I may leave behind for my children. Is there a solution in sight? I try to minimise the use of plastic in my home.

I’m very concerned about the kind of planet I may leave behind for my children. Is there a solution in sight? I try to minimise the use of plastic in my home.

These are a set of experimental photo illustrations/collages I had done for an art competition a couple of years ago. I mixed many photos, (all three are my family at home and/or on vacation) at different moments of time in different places. Garbage dumps, flotsam and other waste are the symbols of our consumerist nature as human beings. Can we help it?

These quasi realistic images are now collecting dust in my hard drive. I had a dream of projecting them on various walls; in a controlled environment of a gallery; on public walls in the streets; in shopping malls as digital screens; even as digital screens jutting out of a landscape or simply junked in garbage dump as an art installation.

What do you think? Are they shocking enough to spread a message if they turned up in any of the above mentioned forms in your neighbourhood? Would we ever be able to give our children the beautiful planet we inherited, or as someone said have we successfully snatched it from them?

About shabnamphoto

I'm a graphic artist with a passion for photography. I like to tell a story with my pictures. Sometimes a picture may speak on its own and at other times it may need an explanation. I'm intrigued by the ordinariness of life and enjoy documenting my life in the light and shadow of what surrounds me. Be it people, landscape, flowers, architecture or birds, the camera helps me see what I wouldn't with my naked eye.
This entry was posted in Documentary, Fine art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Like hell, this is our world.

  1. Excellent work! And it’s so true, plastics will ruin the world! Ever been snorkling? The oceans are spread with them and are killing the fish.

    Like

  2. So much reason for concern. And we are getting to many for this world to cope with. Very important issues. Good work.

    Like

    • shabnamphoto says:

      Thanks Bente, I read somewhere that an island i Papual New Guinea is undergoing eviction as it is sinking. These people are now being referred to as environmental refugees. I believe plastic waste in the pacific ocean finds itself in a heap on the shorelines of Hawaii. I’m sure there is a ton of that floating in the Indian Ocean…. it is indeed a big problem.

      Like

  3. Maybe there are shots of the real plastic flotsam on the internet you could use. (If you like, check http://harrienijland.wordpress.com/2013/07/14/cradle-to-cradle-prt3/ on my blog; it;s about the same subject).

    Like

  4. I agree with you. First 2 shots are OK; in the last one I like the concept; but it could be stronger. It is not straight clear that it is the plastic flotsam (could be stones as well); a small, naked figure in an enormous plastic flotsam, that reaches to the horizon, would be stronger. But I can understand that you are not boating around the plastic flotsam daily 🙂

    Like

    • shabnamphoto says:

      Thanks so much for your very pertinent observations, I do not spend time around plastic waste but there are so many plastic bottles that are easily found on the roads, in garbage dumps and on every surface of the landscape I seem to visit. Hence depicted. The last one is actually plastic bottles strewn on a beach front yes there were a couple of stones and rocks too….

      Like

Leave a Reply

