Altogether elsewhere on a day at Avalanche lake, Ooty.

DES_0869

Avalanche lake is situated at bikeable distance from Ooty, in the Nilgiris. It is a popular campsite for students and tourists alike. This is shot from a resort facing the picturesque valley. Nice!

DES_0862

A short walk through the thicket and you can dive into the pristine, cool waters for a dip if you are the adventurous type. Away in the distance I spotted some locals fishing. There are trout in these waters.

DES_0850

A flower blooms on a pathway surrounding the area. No it was neither fallen, nor photoshopped!

DES_0896

A mountain crow takes a breather soaking in the atmosphere. It is very quiet around here. A day is good enough to view the picture perfect landscape. After that it may get a bit tiresome unless you are a bird or trekker exploring the surroundings.

Shot with a 50mm lens on Nikon600, wish I had my macro handy for these designer spiders!

Shot with a 50mm lens on Nikon D600, I wish I had my macro handy for these designer spiders! This had to be cropped close so I ended up losing some detail.

This tiny reptile opened his eye preety much in sync with the shutter, was uite terrifying the way the white of its eyes opened up like a fan!

This tiny reptile opened its eye pretty much in sync with the shutter, was terrifying the way the white of its eyes opened up like a fan! I ran as fast as I could soon after the shot but he could’ve followed suit and beaten me on speed as well.

About shabnamphoto

I'm a graphic artist with a passion for photography. I like to tell a story with my pictures. Sometimes a picture may speak on its own and at other times it may need an explanation. I'm intrigued by the ordinariness of life and enjoy documenting my life in the light and shadow of what surrounds me. Be it people, landscape, flowers, architecture or birds, the camera helps me see what I wouldn't with my naked eye.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Altogether elsewhere on a day at Avalanche lake, Ooty.

  1. siddharthajoshi says:

    Lovely…

    Like

  2. The lizard photo is really great.

    Like

  3. Amy says:

    Peaceful, picturesque!

    Like

  4. So fresh and beautiful nature, and stunning photos, Shabnam. I wonder if that lake is regulated for hydro power. We have a lot of such lakes, and it kind of looks like it, with no vegetagen just up from the water…

    Like

    • shabnamphoto says:

      yes Bente, there is tremendous water shortage in the region and this lake is a result of a dam built nearby, there are two of them, the other one is called lake emerald on the other side of the dam.

      Like

  5. Dilip says:

    Spectacular photos. Indeed awe inspiring.
    Thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

