The Zigzag love dance of rat snakes

This was on a trip to Auroville, Pondicherry. The place where I stayed was in the middle of a thick forest. One evening on my way back I witnessed this amazing mating of rat snakes. They were at least 4 meters long.

This was on a trip to Auroville, Pondicherry. The place where I stayed was in the middle of a thick forest. One evening on my way back I saw this amazing mating act of rat snakes. They were at least 4 meters long.

In response to the weekly photo challenge zigzags.

About shabnamphoto

I'm a graphic artist with a passion for photography. I like to tell a story with my pictures. Sometimes a picture may speak on its own and at other times it may need an explanation. I'm intrigued by the ordinariness of life and enjoy documenting my life in the light and shadow of what surrounds me. Be it people, landscape, flowers, architecture or birds, the camera helps me see what I wouldn't with my naked eye.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Travel, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Zigzag love dance of rat snakes

  1. these are amazing! reminds me of a Lawrence quote – “The world of men is dreaming, it has gone mad in its sleep, and a snake is strangling it, but it can’t wake up”

    Like

  2. I like both your posts with dancing snakes. Must have been fun to watch.

    Like

  3. Madhu says:

    Wow! That is some capture!!!!

    Like

  4. joshi daniel says:

    that is something of a rare thing to see 🙂

    Like

  5. yup! scary! but it feels like love 🙂

    Like

  6. Slithering beauties!

    Like

  7. Must have been quite an experience. How long does this dance take?

    Like

Leave a Reply

