Skrat: Giving it their all at the NH7 Weekender, Pune

On day 3 of the festival, we sauntered into the grounds to discover the various stage set ups. In the Bacardi pavilion, we were drawn to a young band belting out some pretty bold guitar. A closer look revealed that these were our own homegrown crop from Chennai. Surprising to me, since Chennai and South India in general has always stood for a certain conservative approach, upholding strictly traditional/classical forms of Indian music on equally traditional instruments like the Veena, Flute, Mrudangam and Ghatam that must be learnt and practiced over an entire lifetime. Though the city is home to AR Rahman, I was caught unawares by the rebellious hard rock culture this band represented.

Western music and that too Garage Rock of an Independent nature must be hard to do in a city like Chennai is what I was thinking. I was happy to see my perceptions blow to pieces with Skrat’s raw energetic sounds.

Skrat as I found out later has been in the Indie rock scene since 2006. They’re a bunch of school friends who’ve been jamming together through their days in engineering college. They have 3 albums under their belt and over 100 gigs in India and abroad. Quite a stomp!

A qualified engineer, TT Sriram appeared to be the frontrunner of the band thoroughlly enjoying himself on vocals and guitar.

A qualified engineer, TT Sriram appeared to be the frontrunner of the band thoroughly enjoying himself on vocals and guitar. I’m wishing them good luck in the international arena, they seem to be fit and ready.

He may look dead pan but the bass guitarist Satish Naryanan sure knows how to pack in some clearly energetic rocking notes.

He may look dead pan but the bass guitarist Satish Naryanan sure knows how to pack in some punch with clearly energetic, rocking notes. 

Tapass Naresh on drums

Tapass Naresh on drums is as vital as the guitars and vocals, if not more. When he took time out to study further in the UK, the band almost disbanded, waiting and praying for his return.

Skrat is a three-piece alternative rock band and the constantly changing graphics in the eyes of the backdrop had me perfectly amused.

Skrat is a three-piece alternative rock band. The constantly changing graphics in the eyes of the backdrop had me transfixed. Not to mention the music itself. Here they were rocking to a song called ‘Stomp’

blah blah

The band exudes a certain boyish charm and the music they make is perfectly hummable. The sound is big and bold coming from a 3 piece ensemble. A certain raw energy I enjoyed latching on to.

Here’s a song that I liked, hope you like it too.

 

About shabnamphoto

I'm a graphic artist with a passion for photography. I like to tell a story with my pictures. Sometimes a picture may speak on its own and at other times it may need an explanation. I'm intrigued by the ordinariness of life and enjoy documenting my life in the light and shadow of what surrounds me. Be it people, landscape, flowers, architecture or birds, the camera helps me see what I wouldn't with my naked eye.
Image | This entry was posted in Documentary, Photo essay, Portrait and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Skrat: Giving it their all at the NH7 Weekender, Pune

  1. Good shots and music, Shabnam.

    Like

  2. Nice music! Thanks for sharing it..and you took nice pictures of the concert!

    Like

Leave a Reply

